I am an ocean,
my waters are dark and deep .
Peering in like Narcissus, you will see yourself.
Likes stones that fall to the bottom you will test me,
try me,
ripple my waters.
A ripple, then none –
you’ll think the stone had no weight, no affect.
I am an ocean,
my waters are dark and deep.
The depths can be cold
the depths can be frigid.

Stay on the surface where the sun readily warms,
I’m inviting, I’m carefree, I’m what I seem to be.

You keep throwing those stones,
you keep seeing them disappear.
But my depths are not endless,
my patience not limitless.

One day you will throw that stone,
and it no longer sinks,
the ripples no longer disappear.
Your stones have landed on the foundation that you’ve laid,
carelessly tossed,
carelessly lost.

I am an ocean,
my waters dark and deep.
Seemingly calm.
Seemingly serene.
The storm that comes will toss up all that you’ve left behind,
and like a child in confession,
I will purge myself of you.

I am an ocean,
my waters dark and deep.
Throw a stone,
ripple,
fade…..
The storm will inevitably,
always,
come.

