I don’t make resolutions.  I make reflections on the past and hopes for the future.

When I think of how I rang in 2008, I can’t help but chuckle at myself.  The year, in many ways, did not pan out the way I was picturing it would.  It’s not a negative thing though, in fact, 2008 was very good to me in many ways.

The first thing that comes to mind is the friends that I made in 2008.  Lynne, J.P., Kelly – three people that I became friends with in a very short period of time and without whom I would imagine my life being much less vibrant, fun, funny and enjoyable.  

It’s through my friends – college friends, work friends, neighborhood friends – that my life in nyc has solidified.  I used to think that living here was a temporary thing, that this city was just a stop – one more city in a chain of places I’ve lived.  After three years I’m not sure that’s the case anymore.  I can’t say for sure that I see myself here in 10 years but I know I’m not making plans to move anytime soon.  In my three years I’ve managed to create a life for myself – a full life of friends, a solid, enjoyable work life, and a routine amidst the chaos of this city.

I rang in 2008 in a pub in Dublin and continued my travels to Philadelphia twice (although only one was intentional), and the most frequented place of visit…..Buffalo.  Eight times.  

I planned and enjoyed my ten year high school reunion (yikes!) and saw two couples pledge their lives to each other; the best part being seeing my brother revel in his happiness and add a member to my family.  

I received compliments that I may always remember.  Being described as unflappable and stunning are two things that I smile at everytime I think of those words being delivered.

I had crushes.  Many, many crushes.  I rang in the year thinking I knew EXACTLY what I wanted.  It turns out, I found familiarity comforting and was attracted to what was seemingly easy.  I ended the year somewhat defeated on this front, but remain hopeful.

I started 2008 three sizes larger than I am now and I feel so much better.  Not just physically but in a way that makes me feel like I’m finally allowing myself to simply live.  Not hiding any more; becoming free in revealing myself.  

For 2009 I hope for more travels, more challenges at work, to ring in 2010 three more sizes smaller, and to gain more confidence in who I’m becoming.

And so, I raise my glass, eyes, and hopes to the year ahead of me and know that no matter what may come that I’m grounded by my friends, family and the simple fact that I’m blessed and through that blessing I am happy.

